Admin Sign In 

Theater and Film 

Resources for drama, acting, technical theater, stagecraft, and film.
Last update: Sep 26th, 2008 URL: http://fsc.libguides.com/theaterfilm  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Theater - General             Print Page
  
 

Subject Terms

When searching any database (the library catalog, article databases, web searches) the following terms will be useful:

  • Acting, Actors
  • Theater
  • Theater - History
  • Theater - Criticism
  • Theater - Production and Direction
  • Drama - History
  • Drama - Criticism
 

LISTSERVs

The following links will take you to registration pages for various listserve groups focusing on theater and film.

ASTR-L Discussion list devoted to theatre history run by the American Society for Theatre Research.

ATHE-NEWS-ONLINE Mailing list run by the Association for Theatre in Higher Education. Open to non-members.

COLLABL Discussion group for theater writers, musicians, artists, etc., who are interested in using online access to develop collaborative works.

STAGECRAFT Discussion group devoted to all aspects of stage work, design, production and management.

 
 

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Premier

Academic multi-disciplinary database; full text articles in all fields.

AHSearch
Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

Expanded Academic ASAP
Scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers in all disciplines.

JSTOR
Archive of important scholarly journals in many disciplines.

Literary Reference Center
Drama and theater essays, criticism, and full-text of many plays.

Project Muse
Full-text of several hundred scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

 

In the Reference Stacks

Critical Survey of Drama REF PN 1625.C74

The Encyclopedia of the American Theatre, 1900-1975 REF PN2266.B68

The Encyclopedia of the Musical Theater REF ML102.M88G3 1994

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama, 2nd ed. (5 vol.) REF PN1625.M3 1984

The New York Public Library Performing Arts Desk Reference REF PN1584.N49 1994

Play Index REF PN1655.P53 1949-2002

 

Meet your Librarian!

Profile ImageJenny Fielding


Contact Info:
Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library
Fitchburg State College
978-665-3197
Send Email

Subjects:
Humanities, Psychology, Geophysical Sciences, Theater Arts

 
© 2000-2009 Fitchburg State College - 160 Pearl St., Fitchburg MA 01420-2697 - (978) 345-2151

The Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library is collecting anonymous traffic data for this website using Google Analytics

Description

  Loading content... please wait