Admin Sign In 

Nursing Research Guide  Tags: nursing nursing_students nursing_theory  

Suggested resources to use when beginning research on nursing topics.
Last update: Sep 25, 2008 URL: http://fsc.libguides.com/nursing  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Welcome

I intend for this guide to be a work in progress as nursing and allied health are such dynamic fields of study. If the information within this Guide works for you - great! If not, please contact me with suggestions. Learning is a two-way street after all. Thanks for visiting.
 
 

Getting Started

When choosing a nursing career you may not have realized how important 'time management' would become for you. We understand your assignments come quickly and frustration can follow just as quickly. What follows are some hints to find articles for three usual assignments: Find an article written by an RN; Find an article with a legal or ethical issue; Find an article discussing a cultural aspect of nursing.
 

Article by a RN

I know of no nursing/allied health database which provides a limiting feature of 'RN. so, what to do? Happily enough, databases do offer the limiting search features of 'peer reviewed' or 'refereed' or 'scholarly journals.' This feature will allow you to retrieve articles from only those journals identified as such. What does 'peer reviewed' or 'refereed' mean? Someone or an editorial board has reviewed the author's submission and deemed it worthy of publication. The author's peers in the same subject field have read the manuscript and judged that content has met publication criteria. In other words, the content adds something to scholarship in the subject.

Another search feature to use is limiting your search to just nursing journals. This is done by using Journal Subset.  CINAHLplus with full-text (EBSCO) under Journal Subset allows you to highlight either Core Nursing or Nursing journals. Since this database is Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, using this limiting feature is most helpful to retreive articles from just nursing journals. Proquest Nursing & Allied Health also proivdes a check box to limit results to "Scholarly journals including peer-reviewed." Other limiting features include Document type (such as obituary, letter, review among others) and Publication type (such as Book, Dissertation, Magazine, Review/Report), and the handy "Exclude"

In the article results screen you will still have to click on a title to read the abstract or scroll down in the article to find Author Affiliation.
 

Article on legal or ethical issue

As with any of our databases, the default search screen is to Basic or Keyword. There will be a tab for Advanced Search allowing you three search boxes. However, Proquest Nursing & Allied Health and CINAHLplus with Full-text each have a search feature you will find helpful.

In Proquest Nursing & Allied Health, there is a Topics tab. Below the search box you can choose either 'Suggest topics' (enter keyword) or 'Look up topics A-Z'. Retrieved results will offer View document and Narrow by related topics.

CINAHLplus with full-text has a nice search feature - CINAHL Headings - in the green banner at top of page. Clicking on that link brings you to another page where you can search for a term by "Term begins with' or 'Term contains' or 'Relevancy ranked.' Results may show [SCOPE] which contains additional information. Clicking on the term you seek will list the hierarchical ('tree') structure of the term plus to the right Quality Subheadings which often includes such headings as Ethical issues, and Legislation and jurisprudence. Check the box wanted then click on 'Search database.'

 

Find a cultural article

In searching for articles treating cultural aspects of nursing, you can always search by country or nationality (i.e. Japan or Japanese). Try these terms as Subject terms:

Cultural competence
Cultural diversity
Cultural sensitivity
Transcultural nursing

Use 'transcultural care' for cross-cultural care.

Use 'ethnological research' for cross-cultural comparison, or cross-cultural research or cross-cultural studies.

In CINAHLplus with Full-Text, from the Advanced Search page, select 'MW Word in subject heading' or 'MH Exact search heading' from the drop-down menu.


In Proquest Nursing & Allied Health, click on Advanced search tab, from the drop-down menu next to search box select Subject, then type one of the suggested search terms above.

Ethno website

Although this site is based in the Seattle, WA area, the information will prove pertinent for other areas in the United States.
  • Ethnomed  
      
    The EthnoMed site contains information about cultural beliefs, medical issues and other related issues pertinent to the health care of recent immigrants to Seattle or the US, many of whom are refugees fleeing war-torn parts of the world.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageNancy Turnbull
Contact Info:
Hammond 104
978-665-4338
Send Email

 
© 2000-2009 Fitchburg State College - 160 Pearl St., Fitchburg MA 01420-2697 - (978) 345-2151

The Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library is collecting anonymous traffic data for this website using Google Analytics

Description

  Loading content... please wait