Quick Information
Sometimes you simply need quick definitions or explinations of subjects. This is when reference sources come in handy. Try these resources:
- Encyclopedia of social work: Ref. HV35.S6 1995
- The encyclopedia of elder care : the comprehensive resource on geriatric and social care: Ref. RC954.E53 2001
- Encyclopedia of disability and rehabilitation: Ref. HV1568.E53 1995
- The encyclopedia of child abuse: Ref. HV6626.5.C57 2001
- Encyclopedia of special education: Ref. LC4007.E53 2007
- Encyclopedia of family health: Ref. RC81.A2M336 1998
- Credo Reference
Citations
Citing your sources is one of the most important steps in doing research. RefWorks will allow you to store and organize your citations as well as easily create your annotated bibliography and final paper in APA style.
- APA Style
Get more help using the APA style for citation. - Video: Getting Citations in EBSCOHost Databases
Watch this to save time citing articles from SocIndex.
Your Best Bet for Research
SocIndex is a great database that covers a variety of social science topics and some behavioral science topics. There is a lot of full text and reliable research (including scholarly, peer reviewed articles). This will be your best bet for your research and Sara's suggested starting point.
Articles
SociIndex won't have everything you need. Consider these databases to help you find more research on your topic. Not all of them will be for you, select the ones that best match your topic.
General Web Sites
Here are websites reviewed by the librarians. They do not contain scholarly articles, but will provide you with other information or lists of articles to find. Some even provide you with statistics to use in your own research.
- Statisitcal Abstracts 2009
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the standard summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Data is pulled from private and government sources. - U.S.Census Bureau: Age Data
Features census data about the older (55+) and elderly (65+) populations on the national, state, and county levels, including surveys, estimates, and future projections. - AARP's AgeSource Worldwide

AgeSource Worldwide describes clearinghouses, databases, libraries, directories, statistical resources, bibliographies and reading lists, texts, and Web "metasites" focusing on aging and allied subjects. - US Department of Health and Human Services
HE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES (HHS) is the United States government's principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves. - American's With Disabilities Act Information
A US Government sponsored webpage with information about the ADA. - Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
The Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) is a law ensuring services to children with disabilities throughout the nation. IDEA governs how states and public agencies provide early intervention, special education and related services to more than 6.5 million eligible infants, toddlers, children and youth with disabilities. - Center for Disease Control: Data and Statistics
Great health statistics for a variety of topics that relate to aging and children's health among other topics.
Who is Sara? |
Sara Marks![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
978-665-4337
Office is in room 112- behind the circulation desk
Send Email
Subjects:
Comm Media, Sociology, Women's Studies, History, Human Services
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait