Admin Sign In 

Genealogy Research 

Find out more about your families history using these resources.
Last update: Mar 26, 2009 URL: http://fsc.libguides.com/genealogy  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Welcome

Most people don't think of using local college libraries for genealogy research.  College and university libraries are actually great places to look for family history.  At Fitchburg State College, we provide access to historical newspapers.  This includes local papers and The New York Times.  We also proivde access to genealogy research tools like HeritageQuest and Ancestry.com.  These tools provide you with census data, birth and death data, and more official documents.  Almost every academic library provides access to the college or university archives.  At Fitchburg State College you can find old year books and newspapers in our archives. 

This guide is designed to give you easy access to all the resources.  Please feel free to use this when you are doing your genealogy research at Fitchburg State College.

Other Places

 

Visiting FSC

  • These resources are available only when you come to the FSC library.
  • Best time to come is evenings and weekends.  Consider calling before you come over to make sure there are computers available (978-665-4337).
  • Expect about 1 hour on the computer.
  • Feel free to bring your laptop if you have one.
    • Wi-fi Internet access is available for free (no login required) for laptops.
  • The library staff is happy to help you, just ask.
  • Printing is free, ask a librarian for the guest card.

 

 

FSC Archives

You can visit our college archives by appointment.  Contact Robert Foley via email or phone to set up an appointment.

 
 

News Sources

Local Papers are available on the Internet, print or microfilm:

Historical Fitchburg Papers are all located in microfilm.  Ask a librarian to help you locate these in the library.

  • Fitchburg (daily/weekly) sentinel
    • from 1843-1857 to 1973
  • Fitchburg daily news
    • from 1904-1905, July 1907 to Oct-Dec1913
  • Fitchburg daily sentinel
    • from 1873 to 06/01/1942
  • Fitchburg evening mail
    • from 07/01/1895 to Dec.1895
  • Fitchburg reveille
    • from 03/31/1852 to 03/25/1875
  • Fitchburg sentinel
    • from 01/01/1858 to Dec.1873
    • from 1922 to 1973
  • Fitchburg weekly sentinel
    • from 1872 to 1881
  • Fitchburg-Leominster sentinel and enterprise
    • from v. 137-148, 1976 to 1988

Massachusetts History Tools


Learn More About Your Ancestors

Are you looking for a FSC alumni?  Use the Fitchburg Alumni Directory to find more about them.  You can find it in the Reference collection of the library on the first floor.  The call number is: Ref. LD3231.M87F57 2005

 

Who is Sara?

Sara Marks


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
978-665-4337
Office is in room 112- behind the circulation desk
Send Email

Subjects:
Comm Media, Sociology, Women's Studies, History, Human Services

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait