Welcome
The guide is designed to help you find information and sources needed to successfully complete the literature review portion of your research paper for this class.
Citations
Citing your sources is one of the most important steps in doing research. RefWorks will allow you to store and organize your citations as well as easily create your annotated bibliography and final paper in APA style.
- RefWorks Use this tool to organize your citations.
- Diana Hacker Guide to APA Style
Request from other libraries
We are not going to have everything you need, but we will get it for you. If we don't have a book or article you need, send a request and we will get it for you for free.
Find Articles
Use these databases to find full-text, peer reviewed scholarly articles. You can access these databases from home using your Falcon key and password.
- Criminal Justice Periodicals Index - A comprehensive collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals including information for professionals in law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection - Full text coverage on topics: emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
- PsycARTICLES - Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
- PsychInfo - Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
- SocIndex with Full Text - Comprehensive sociology research database; contains full text for books and monographs, journals and conference papers.
- Academic Search Premier- Academic multi-disciplinary database; full text articles in all fields.
- Academic OneFile - Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles in many subjects.
- FORENSICnetBASE/ LawENFORCEMENTnetBASE- Full access to forensic science and criminal justice textbooks and scholarly books. Includes techniques in forensic analysis and case studies.
How do I identify a research article?
The typical research study will include a research question, a specific group of subjects to be tested, the method used to test the theory, actual testing and measuring, and then a summary of the data collected. These findings are then written up into a research report and submitted for publication in professional journals. Research articles typically includes these sections:
- Abstract
- Literature review
- Methodology of experiment
- Research
- Results
- Areas of further study
- Conclusion
- Bibliography
Scholarly Journals vs Magazines/Trade Journals
Not sure What the difference between scholarly/academic/peer reviewed journal articles and magazines or trade journals is??
Look for the following to identify an academic or peer reviewed journal article or take a look at this site:
- written by expert in field (a professor or other academic)
- authors are not paid to publish their research
- conducts research study or builds on another's research
- article contains abstract, summarizing research
- cities sources, contains references and bibliography
- academic journals are not in the business to make money; magazines and trade journals are
Subject Guide |
Natasha KahnDescription
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait