Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Music Resources Guide  Tags: music_education music_internet_ resources  

Music Resources for support of the humanities minor.
Last update: Jul 10th, 2009 URL: http://fsc.libguides.com/music  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Books and Reference             Print Page
  
 

Reference Books

Though lots of information can be found online, some of the best information is still in print. Check out these titles in the reference section on the first floor of the library:

New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians REF ML102.O6N5 1992

New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments REF ML102.I5 N48 1984

New Grove Dictionary of Opera REF ML100.N48 2001 29 vols.

The Guinness Encyclopedia of Popular Music REF ML102.P66 G84 1995

Popular Music REF ML120.U5 S5


 

In the Stacks

Books on music in the general collections are all shelved with call numbers starting with M. (This is one of the only classifications where the letter and the subject match up!)

 

Subject Headings

The following phrases may be helpful to search as subjects or keyword in the library catalog to find books on the shelves:

  • Blues (Music)
  • Composition (Music)
  • Jazz
  • Music
  • Music-Philosophy and aesthetics
  • Music-United States-History and Criticism
  • Musical Accompaniment
  • Musical Instruments
  • Musicals
  • Opera
  • Singing
  • Songs-Texts
 

Electronic Reference

  • Encyclopedia Britannica Online      Edit or Delete link_172003  Get Quick Stats
    Includes information from the Britannica encyclopedias, magazines, videos, and websites.
  • CREDO Reference      Edit or Delete link_172043  Get Quick Stats
    Online reference, including handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries.
 

Meet your Librarian!

Profile ImageJenny Fielding


Contact Info:
Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library
Fitchburg State College
978-665-3197
Send Email

Subjects:
Humanities, Psychology, Geophysical Sciences, Theater Arts

 
© 2000-2009 Fitchburg State College - 160 Pearl St., Fitchburg MA 01420-2697 - (978) 345-2151

The Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library is collecting anonymous traffic data for this website using Google Analytics

Description

  Loading content... please wait