Our Program
Fitchburg State College offers an undergraduate minor in Women's Studies and a graduate program of study leading to the MA in English, History and Literature of Women.
The objectives of the undergraduate program are to "provide multicultural and inter- disciplinary courses which examine women's roles, history and issues." The Minor includes Introduction to Women Studies and 5 other courses from among the following: Women in Latin America; Women, Art & Society; Psychology of Women; Contemporary Issues in Women's Health; History of U.S. Women to 1870; History of U.S. Women from 1870 to Present; Women and Literature; History of Women in Europe; Women in American Society; Women, Music and Society; and an Independent Study in Women's Studies.
The graduate level track aims to: promote graduate level interdisciplinary scholarship; encourage the development of extensive knowledge of women's contributions to history and literature; and help meet the needs of teachers to develop gender-based curricula.
Articles
Finding Books
In the Library Catalog, books dealing with Women's Studies can be found by searching the following terms:
| Feminism | Feminist criticism | Feminist theory |
| Feminists | Women and literature | Women in politics |
| Women's movement | Women's rights | Women's studies |
Or consult these suggested subject headings and call numbers in the library:
- HQ 1-2039 The family. Marriage. Woman.
- HQ 12-449 Sexual life.
- HQ 450-471 Erotica.
- HQ 503-1064 The family. Marriage. Home - child study, adultery, divorce, the aged.
- HQ 1101- 2030.7 Women. Feminism.
- HQ 2035- 2039 Life skills.
Reference Sources
These tools will provide you with background information on various topics! Books are located on the first floor of the library in the referenc collection.
- Credo Reference: Access to the full text of the best reference books, along with images, customizable data, visual concept maps of results, sound, maps, and more.
- Britannica Encyclopedia: Encyclopædia Britannica Online Academic Edition; includes information from encyclopedias, magazines, videos, and Web sites.
- Dictionary of Feminist Theory: REF HQ 1115.H86 1990
- A Feminist Dictionary: REF HQ 1115.K73 1985
- Encyclopedia of Feminism: REF HQ 1115.T87 1986
- Encyclopedia of Women's History in America: REF HQ 1410.C85 1996
- Nature of Woman: An Encyclopedia and Guide to the Literature: REF HQ 1115.W37
- North American Reference Encyclopedia of Women's Liberation: REF HQ 1154.W47
- Women's Studies Encyclopedia: REF HQ 1115.W645 1989
- Women's World: A Timeline of Women in History: History REF HQ 1122.F69 1995
- General Reference Center Gold : This database offers indexing, abstracting and some full text to general interest magazines, reference books, and newspapers with information on current events, popular culture, the arts and sciences, sports, consumer information, etc.
- Health Reference Center Academic: A database offering indexing, abstracting and full-text to articles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol & drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc.
Who is Sara? |
Sara Marks![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
978-665-4337
Office is in room 112- behind the circulation desk
Send Email
Subjects:
Comm Media, Sociology, Women's Studies, History, Human Services
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait