Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Correctional Theory and Practice  Tags: corrections courts crime criminal_justice criminal_law cyber_crime hate_crimes jury juvenile_justice law legal police prisons punishment  

Shortcuts for Dr. Weiss' CJ 2650: Correction Theory and Practice classes
Last update: Oct 26th, 2009 URL: http://fsc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=4750  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Welcome

Use this guide to find sources for the research paper for this class! 

 

Webpages

  • Google US Government Search  
    Find webpages created by the government. Here you can find government reports and statistics to support your research.
  • Department of Justice  
    The DOJ enforces the law and defend the interests of the United States according to the law
  • Statistical Abstracts  
    The census has collected tons of statistics for you to use.
  • NCJRS  
    Website of the U.S. Department of Justice's National Criminal Justice Reference Service, an information clearinghouse for people around the U.S. and the world involved with research, policy, and practice related to criminal and juvenile justice, and more.
 

Citations

Citing your sources is one of the most important steps in doing research. RefWorks will allow you to store and organize your citations as well as easily create your annotated bibliography and final paper in APA style.

 

Find Articles

  • Criminal Justice Periodicals Index  
    CJPI is one of the library's best options for academic journal articles on Criminal Justice topics. A large percentage of the articles are available in full-text.
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection  
    Full text coverage on topics: emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
  • PsycARTICLES  
    Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
  • PsychInfo  
    Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
  • SocIndex  
    SocIndex covers criminal justice topics and journals. Use this as another option for academic articles.
  • Academic Search Premier  
    Academic multi-disciplinary database; full text articles in all fields.

Books!

Books will always be an important source of research.  You are not limited to the books we have available in this library.  Ask a librarian about other libraries you can have access too.

Understanding Your Topic

Before you begin doing your research, it is important to know exactly what you are looking for.  Narrowing down your topic will help search engines and article databases bring back the most relevant results.  Here are some tools that can help you learn more about your topic and narrow it down to something manageable. 

Request from other libraries

If our databases don't have the articles you need available as full-text we can request a copy from another library.  Fill out this form and we'll email it to you in about a week.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageNatasha Kahn


Contact Info:
Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library
Fitchburg State College
978-665-4869
Send Email

 
© 2000-2009 Fitchburg State College - 160 Pearl St., Fitchburg MA 01420-2697 - (978) 345-2151

The Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library is collecting anonymous traffic data for this website using Google Analytics

Description

  Loading content... please wait