Find Articles (Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Peer-Reviewed)Find Books, Music, Videos, Digital Images and Primary Source MaterialsSpecial Collections & Archives 
Citing Your SourcesNeed Peer-Reviewed, Scholarly or Academic Articles?
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Distributed Learning - Library Services  Tags: education forensic_nursing business nursing distance_learning distributed_learning extended_campus  

Provides information about the library services provided for students and faculty in Fitchburg State's Extended Campus and Distance Learning programs and courses and how to access them.
Last update: Jul 09th, 2009 URL: http://fsc.libguides.com/dlservices  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles (Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Peer-Reviewed)             Print Page
  
 

Research Databases

Did you know that the Library offers subject specific databases to find appropriate, current articles?

If you know which database you want to use, go to the list of All Research Databases. If you need help deciding which ones to use, select one of our Research Guides for Majors; they will provide you a list of top resources for that subject and other information to help you get started or contact the librarians for research and reference assistance.

Note: Many of our databases offer the option to search for peer-reviewed, scholarly journals - for more information about this topic see the Research Help tab!

 

Newspapers

Find Newspapers

Historical New York Times
Search the New York Times from 1851- 2004. Articles will be in PDF format. Current full-text content of the New York Times is found in several other databases: LexisNexis, Proquest Newspapers, and Infotrac.

ProQuest Newspapers
This database provides full-text coverage of major Massachusetts newspapers, plus selected coverage of other regional sources such as: 

  • Boston Globe (1980 - current)
  • Boston Herald (1991 - current)
  • Sentinel & Enterprise; Fitchburg, MA (2005 - current)
  • The Sun; Lowell, MA ( 2004 - current)
  • Telegram & Gazette; Worcester, MA (1989 - current)
  • Wall Street Journal; Eastern edition (1984 - current)

It also provides full-text coverage of major national newspapers such as: 

  • Chicago Tribune (1985 - current)
  • Denver Post (1988 - current)
  • USA Today (1987 - current)
  • The Washington Post (1987 - current)

LEXIS-NEXIS Academic
This database contains the full-text of more than 350 newspapers from the U.S. and around the world, many same day of publication; includes:   

  • The New York Times (dating back to 1980)
  • The Washington Post (dating back to 1977)
  • Broadcast transcripts from the major television and radio networks, including ABC, CBS, CNN, FOX, NBC and NPR.
  • Political transcripts covering Congressional committee hearings, press briefings from the State, Justice, and Defense departments, and presidential news conferences

EBSCOhost Newspaper Source
Selected full text for regional, national (U.S.) and international newspapers; full text television & radio news transcripts.


Find News Magazines

Academic OneFile
Contains articles in many subjects; limit search results to News.

Academic Search Premier
Contains articles in all fields; limit search results to Magazines or Newspapers.

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
A search engine for scholarly literature. Searches across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

 
 

Document Delivery

Find an article that is only available through one of our print journals or newspapers? Request a copy of it to be sent to you: Article Photocopy Request Form  

 

Interlibrary Loan

Find an item you want that is not available through our online or print collections? Request an article from another library and we will send it to you when it comes in: ILL Article Photocopy Request Form

 

Journal Locator

Do you have an article citation or journal/newspaper title you are looking for? Here is a quick way to see if we have it!
Type in the name of the journal/newspaper and click on search to see if it is available in our online or print collections. You can also browse by subject. If we have an online subscription, you can link directly to the journal/newspaper's available full-text in our databases. If it's only available in our print collection, request document delivery.

 

Find journals & newspapers in the Library collections

 
Browse journals by subject

  
 
© 2000-2009 Fitchburg State College - 160 Pearl St., Fitchburg MA 01420-2697 - (978) 345-2151

The Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library is collecting anonymous traffic data for this website using Google Analytics

Description

  Loading content... please wait