E-Books
What are E-books?
E-Books are electronic full-text copies of published print materials. E-books are available via the Library's subscription databases and the Web.
Credo Reference Books
Access to the full text of the best reference books, along with images, customizable data, visual concept maps of results, sound, maps, and more.
FORENSICnetBASE/ LawENFORCEMENTnetBASE
Forensic science and criminal justice references. Inccludes techniques in forensic analysis and case studies.
Safari Books Online
Search across the full text of thousands of technical books for programmers and IT professionals.
Free E-Books on the Web
Use our Library's custom Google search engine to locate free e-books online. Free e-books are mainly older works that are no longer in the copyright domain.
Our tool searches these sites:
- Project Gutenberg
- Million Books Project - An early collection of books from the Indian scanning centers of the Universal Library Project.
Google Books
The Google Book Project involves the digitization of several large library collections; these books searchable and discoverable via the Web. Google shows information about the book, and in many cases, a few sentences to display your search term in context.
Search within the full text of books to find ones that interest you, and learn where to buy or borrow them. When a book is out of copyright, you can view or download it in its entirety.
NetLibrary Database
Netlibrary contains digital versions of books, including a wide range of research, reference and reading materials. Includes both fiction and academic titles.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
The Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Contents of this database are shown as e-books, electronic books.
Streaming Music
African-American Song - The first online resource to document the history of African American music in an online music listening service. The collection contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others.
American Song - Contains 50,000 tracks that allows people to hear and feel the music from America’s past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.
Classical Music Library - Along with Searching, users can Browse by composer, artist, conductor, ensemble, instrument, genre, period, label and recording date, and Browse by category – chamber, instrumental, orchestral, opera & operetta, Sacred, stage & screen, and vocal & choral.
Contemporary World Music - Contains 50,000 tracks that delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
Smithsonian Global Sound - A virtual encyclopedia of the world’s musical and aural traditions, including the published recordings owned by Smithsonian Folkways Recordings and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent for the International Library of African Music (ILAM), as well as material collected on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE).
All of these resources allow for free streaming of music; downloading music is on an individual basis for a fee.
Digital Library Collections
American Memory from the Library of Congress - Browse collections by topic: Advertising; African American History; Architecture; Cities, Towns; Culture, Folklife; Environment; Government; Immigration, American Expansion; Literature; Maps; Native American History and more.
Duke University's Digital Collections - Browse collections by subject category: Advertising; African American History; Art, Literature & Music; Documentary Photography; Transcultural Experience, Women's History and more.
Making of America - A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery - provides free and open access to over 685,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Smithsonian Institution Digital Library - contains digital publications, collections and objects including online exhibitions, webcasts, digital editions, bibliographies and fact sheets, and finding aids/inventories for collections such as our trade literature and artist files.
Circulating Collection
Interlibrary Loan
Find an item you want that is not available through our online or print collections? Request a book, audio CD, DVD, etc. from another library and we will mail it to you when it comes in: ILL Item Request Form
Search the Catalogs of Other Libraries
WorldCat
Search for your item in all libraries (local and worldwide). This joint catalog contains 1.3 billion items in more than 10,000 libraries worldwide including Fitchburg State College.
http://worldcat.org
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait