Library Services: What's Available & How to Access It from Off-Campus
Borrow Materials from the Gallucci-Cirio Library's Print Collections?
Activate Your Library Account | Fitchburg State One Card | Document Delivery | Renew Items
Get Borrowing Privileges at Other Massachusetts Libraries?
ARC (Academic & Research Collaborative) | WILL (Walk-in Interlibrary Loans)
Get Materials from Other Libraries through Interlibrary Loans?
Get Off-campus Access to the Gallucci-Cirio Library's Resources?
Falcon Key Login Information | Databases/Subscription Resources | Journal Locator | Library Catalog
Place or Access Materials on Reserve?
ERes (Electronic Reserves) | Physical Reserves
Borrow Materials from the Gallucci-Cirio Library's Print Collections:
As a student or faculty member in a distance learning or extended campus course/program you have full access to the circulating collections in the Gallucci-Cirio Library and to most of our non-circulating collections from home. To find materials in our circulating book, audio CD, DVD and VHS collections use the Library Catalog. Use the online Research Databases or our Research Guides for Majors to access full-text articles, online books, streaming music and other materials as well as indexes and abstracts to print materials. Use Journal Locator when you have an article citation to find the full text article in our electronic and print periodicals (newspapers, magazines, journals, etc.) collections. Note: You must be logged in as an Off-Campus user to access the online subscription databases, journals, music, etc.
When you find an item you want to use and it is accessible online you have direct access to save, print, download, listen, etc. to the item (options vary depending on the type of material and the database).
When you find an item you want to use that is physically in our library and not available online, complete the Item Request or Article Request form and the Library will mail the items to the address specified on your request form; no charge for mailing items to you. You will only be responsible for the cost of shipping books, CDs, and other circulating items back to the Gallucci-Cirio Library. Photocopies are yours to keep.You are also welcome to come to the library and check out and/or return materials through the Circulation Desk; you will need your One Card if you come to the library.
-
Item Request Request a book, audio CD, DVD, etc. from our circulating collections.
- Article Photocopy Request Request a copy of an article or specified page range from a Gallucci-Cirio Library-owned periodical, newspaper, reference book, etc.)
Activate Your Library Account
To activate your Library Account, please complete the Library Account Activation Form online or stop by the Circulation Desk in the Gallucci-Cirio Library with your One Card. If you are in an Extended Campus program and have not received your Banner ID number yet, you can still activate your library account by using the last 4 digits of your social security number where the form asks for your Banner number and entering your instructor/course information in the comments box.
Your One Card is your official college ID. It is optional for the distributed learning community.
If you come on campus, you need your One Card to check out library materials, use the photocopiers, and print from computers and microfiche machines. You also need your One Card if you intend to go to any of the ARC or WILL libraries and borrow materials from them. The student number printed on your One Card serves as your Library Instituion ID number.
If you only plan to access the Gallucci-Cirio Library's services online, you just need to know your Fitchburg State Banner ID number. Your Banner number with the "@" symbol changed to a zero is your library barcode.
- Request a photoless One Card ID by completing the Extended Campus OneCard Request Form at http://www.fsc.edu/technology/onecard/photoless/index.cfm. This option is only available to students and faculty who have no classes on the Main/McKay Campus.
- Request a picture ID by stopping in at the One Card Office.
Through our document delivery service we will send you items from our print collections and from Interlibrary Loans through postal mail, email or post-to-web upon receipt of your completed request form. In mailing items we will incur the cost of shipping the item(s) to you; you will be responsible for the cost of shipping library items back to us and for any damaged/lost items. Photocopies and electronic copies are yours to keep.
Gallucci-Cirio Library-owned items and Interlibrary Loan items can be returned in person or mailed to the Gallucci-Cirio library using the enclosed return mailing label. Any library items mailed back must be shipped in appropriate packing such as a jiffy bag to prevent the item from being damaged (ask at your local post office if you are not sure).
This service is only available to faculty and students enrolled through a Fitchburg State extended campus or distance learning course/program.
The length of the delivery time will vary depending on the material requested and the mode of delivery available. Our goal is to ensure that you receive materials as quickly as possible.
The student borrowing period for circulating items for Fitchburg State-owned items is 28 days, plus a 7-day grace period to allow for shipping time. Items returned after the 7-day grace period will be subject to the normal late fine of 25¢ per day/per item.
The faculty borrowing period for circulating items is 6 months for Fitchburg State-owned items.
Lost/damaged fees are the cost of the item plus a $5 processing fee.
Renew Items Checked Out on Your Library Account
There are four ways that you can renew items that you have borrowed from the Gallucci-Cirio Library:
- Online renewal - connect to the Library Catalog and access your account directly by clicking on "Your Library Record". Select Barcode or Institution ID and type the corresponding number in the box, type in your last name, and click on "Login".
- At the Circulation Desk - stop by the Circulation Desk and renew your items whether you have them with you or not.
- Via phone - call the Circulation Desk during our hours of operation at (978) 665-3063 and renew them over the phone.
- Via email - email your renewal request to circulation@fsc.edu. Please be sure to include your name and library barcode/institution ID number.
Please note:
- Overdue items can not be renewed online if your account is expired or you owe more than $5 in late or lost fees.
- A patron who renews an overdue item is still responsible for the late fine that has accrued between the date that the item was originally due to be returned and the date upon which it was renewed.
- For Fitchburg State students, faculty and staff your Institution ID is the number on your One Card ID and your Library Barcode is your Banner number with the "@" symbol changed to a zero. Example: Banner number is @12345678, Library Barcode is 012345678.
- The Circulation staff reserves the right to require the early return of a renewed item or deny a renewal if it is needed by another Fitchburg State student or faculty member.
Refer to our Circulation Policies for additional information.
Borrowing Privileges at Other Massachusetts Libraries:
The Gallucci-Cirio Library has two cross-borrowing partnerships, ARC and WILL, which provides direct access to additional libraries for our students and faculty. For a complete list of participating libraries, their locations and contact information see ARC and WILL information.
- ARC (Academic & Research Collaborative)
This is a group of libraries in the Worcester area to which the Gallucci-Cirio Library belongs. Within this group we participate in a student, faculty and staff cross-borrowing program with the following libraries: Anna Maria, Assumption, Atlantic Union, Becker, College of the Holy Cross, Mass. College of Pharmacy, Mt. Wachusett Community College, Nichols, Quinsigamond Community College, Tufts, Worcester Public Library, Worcester State and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.
In order to borrow circulating materials directly from any of these schools, you must present a Gallucci-Cirio ARC Card issued by our Circulation Department and an FSC One Card at that library's circulation desk.
To get your ARC Card, please contact us at dllibrary@fsc.edu. By using any of these libraries through ARC, the Gallucci-Cirio Library at Fitchburg State as your home institution, agrees to place a hold on your FSC library and Banner accounts if you fail to return an item or do not pay any accrued late fines/lost fees.
Note: In order to receive a Fitchburg State College ARC Card, you must have an active library account in good standing with us. We reserve the right to deny/revoke this auxillary privilege to any FSC member whose library account is or becomes delinquent with us or any of the ARC member libraries.
WILL stands for Walk-In-Library-Loan. This program allows current Fitchburg State faculty, staff, and students to walk into any of the participating Massachusetts state colleges libraries (2-year, 4-year and university) and register to borrow material directly from that library.
You must present a valid One Card ID as proof that you are affiliated with Fitchburg State College; additional verification such as your current semester registration or bill may be required to show that you are currently enrolled.
Each state college library has its own individual registration requirements and circulation policies which you must adhere to in order to take part in this program. This reciprocal program is only for borrowing circulating materials and does not include using their ILL, Bibliographic Instruction, or other special services. By using any of these libraries through WILL, the Gallucci-Cirio Library at Fitchburg State as your home institution, agrees to place a hold on your FSC library and Banner accounts if you fail to return an item or do not pay any accrued late fines/lost fees.
Interlibrary Loans (ILL)
Books, journals and other materials not available at the Gallucci-Cirio Library can be requested from other libraries through our Interlibrary Loans service. This service is available free to Fitchburg State students and faculty including those in an extended campus or distance learning course/program.
Please keep in mind that an ILL request for a physical item such as a book takes an average of 1.5 to 2 weeks and the average time for an article/photocopy takes 1 to 3 days from the time you submit the request until you receive the item, but it may take longer. There are 2 ways in which you can request an item through ILL:
- Complete the appropriate online ILL Request Form.
- Any time you are on campus you can come to the library and fill out an ILL form at the Circulation Desk.
We will search to find a library that has the item you want and we will borrow it from them. When we receive the item from the lending library we will send it to you and notify you that it is on the way. Through our document delivery service we will send the item to you through postal mail, email or post-to-web; the mode of delivery may vary depending on the type of material available and your preference. In mailing items we will incur the cost of shipping ILL item(s) to you.
Photocopies do not need to be returned unless the lending library indicates otherwise.
ILL items can be returned in person or mailed to the Gallucci-Cirio Library using the enclosed return mailing label. Any ILL items mailed back must be shipped in appropriate packing such as a jiffy bag to prevent the item from being damaged (ask at your local post office if you are not sure). You will be responsible for the cost of shipping ILL items back to us and for any damaged/lost items. Length of loans for ILL materials are subject to the lending library. Patrons are asked to return materials by the specified date on the slip. Renewals may be requested once and they are dependent upon the lending library's policy and not Fitchburg State. If you wish to renew your ILL, please contact us at Interlibrary@fsc.edu or 978 665-3065 prior to the date it is due; please be sure to include your name and library barcode/institution ID number and the title of the item you wish to renew. We will confirm the renewal and the new due date once we hear from the lending library.
Off-campus Access to the Gallucci-Cirio Library's Resources:
Falcon Key Login Information:
As a Fitchburg State College faculty or student you are issued a unique Falcon Key username and password from the Information Technology Department when you teach or enroll in a course/program which you then use to login to the library's databases and subscription resources from off campus as well as your email and Blackboard accounts.
- Faculty/Staff Falcon Key:
- Your username & password are the same as your email username. (i.e. "jsmith").
-
If you need to request an employee email account you can do so by completing the Employee Email Request Form.
- Student Falcon Key:
- Your username is the same as your email username (i.e. "jsmith23").
- Your password is normally the last six digits of your Banner Student ID number. This number can be found on your class schedule and student bill or by contacting the Registrar's Office: (978) 665-4196.
NEED HELP?
- Students and faculty can obtain their Falcon Key account information from the IT Help Desk.
- On campus students, visit the IT Help Desk in the Conlon Industrial Arts building, room 229 with your One Card.
- Off campus students, call 978-665-4500 or toll free at (866) 520-7131 for assistance., or access the IT Online Help Desk.
- If you are in an extended campus course/program and have not received a Banner Student ID number because your paperwork is in progress, contact Linda LeBlanc (978 665-3062) for a temporary guest login to use.
Accessing the Gallucci-Cirio Library's databases and subscription resources:
When you are off-campus and you click on the link for a database, journal, etc., from the library's website you will be prompted to enter your Falcon Key login information. Once you enter it you should be taken directly into that resource and can begin using it. You will only be prompted to login once for each online session. If you know which resource you want to use, go to the list of Research Databases. If you need help deciding what resources to use, select one of our Research Guides for Majors which will provide you a list of top resources for that subject and other information to help you get started or contact the librarians for research and reference assistance.
Accessing the Find Journals: Journal Locator service:
You can use the Find Journals: Journal Locator search function from off-campus with out logging in with your Falcon Key. This service lets you type in the name of a journal that you are looking for or browse for journals (both print and electronic) that the Gallucci-Cirio Library subscribes to. If we have one or more online subscriptions with full-text access available for that journal, a list of links will display with the date range of the full-text coverage each resource provides. When you click on a resource link, if you are off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your Falcon Key in order to access the full-text online.
Accessing the Library Catalog:
Use the Library Catalog to locate books, CDs, and etc. that are available at Fitchburg State College. Searching is available from on and off campus with no login required unless you want to access your library account. If you want to login, click on the My Account tab and enter your library barcode or institution number and your last name; from here you can edit your search preferences, renew items online, verify your address, etc.
Reserves
The Reserve Service is provided for faculty members who have materials that they want available for use by the students in their course(s). This service is available for all Fitchburg State faculty and accessible to all students, in both on-campus and distributed learning programs. At the end of the semester usage statistics for each course's reserve items, both electronic and physical, are emailed to the professor.
The Reserve Service consists of two components: ERes, Electronic Reserves, and the physical Course Reserve Desk.
ERes, Electronic Reserves
ERes, electronic reserves, is available for posting articles, book chapters, images, etc. to a secure website through the library. Faculty may send materials to Kelly Bourdreau; email digital items to eresmanager@fsc.edu or send hardcopies to the Gallucci-Cirio Library (Attn: Kelly Bourdreau, Fitchburg State College, 160 Pearl Street, MA 01420). Our staff will load the materials (according to copyright) and make them accessible online for the students in your course(s). Materials can be arranged alphabetically, by date or grouped within folders to your specifications. Students are able to access these materials online through an ERes course password.
Check out our ERes Site at http://eres.fsc.edu, click on Electronic Reserves and Course Materials to access courses with electronic reserves. A permanent link to your ERes can be placed in your BlackBoard and Elluminate course for faculty who utilize both of these services.
Student Access to ERes:
- Go to our ERes site at http://eres.fsc.edu
- Click on Electronic Reserves and Course Materials
- There are several ways to find your course reserves:
• By Department - Click on the arrow to see a complete list of departments, select the one you want and click on go.
• By Instructor - Click on the arrow to see a complete list of professors, select the one you want and click on go.
• ERes QuickSearch (Lets you search by Course name or number, document title and document author.) - Type in the information you know and select the field to be searched, then click on search. - The screen will display a list of 1 or more courses that match what you searched. If you search by instructor, and your professor has more than 1 class with reserve items, you will need to click on your course.
- If the course is password protected, you will be prompted to enter your ERes password (the course password will be given to you by your professor). Next you will see a copy right notice; you must click on the "Accept" button in order to continue.
- Once in the course, you will see a list of all the documents on reserve for your course. To access the full text electronic reserve documents, click on the link. Please note: Many documents are in PDF file formats, which means that you must have PDF reader software on your computer in order to open them. In the right hand column of your ERes screen under Fitchburg State Links there is a link to a free version of Adobe Acrobat PDF Reader which you can download from the Internet. Web (htm/html) files will open through any web browser. Documents in other formats such as MS Word or PowerPoint require either that software or a compatible reader software on your computer in order to view the document.
- Students may access ERes items through their own computer or by using a computer in any of the open computer labs on campus.
If you have trouble accessing an ERes course or document, please contact us at 978-665-3063 or eresmanager@fsc.edu.
The Reserve Desk (also part of the Circulation Desk) is a physical location where faculty provide books (personal copies and/or library copies), articles, CDs, videos, etc. for student use within the Library or for short loans.
Reserve items are maintained on the bookcase located behind the Circulation Desk. The items are placed under the name of the professor who requested they be put on reserve. All reserve items are listed online in our Library Catalog, click on the Course Reserves button and search by professor or course name.
Faculty at extended campus locations may request Gallucci-Cirio Library-owned materials to be sent to their course location to be placed in a secure area for their students to use; please contact us at eresmanager@fsc.edu to make arrangements.
Student Access to Course Reserves Desk at the Library
- Students MUST present their Fitchburg State One Card ID.
- Tell the circulation assistant the name of the professor and the title of the book/article/item desired. A list of professors and the items they have on Reserve is available on the Library's Catalog, click on the Course Reserves button.
- Reserve Items are to be used in the Library only. These can not be checked out overnight, unless the professor has specified otherwise. The items that do circulate have a short loan period of 1 day or 1 week; due dates are strictly enforced with a late fine of $1 per day per item assessed on items returned late.
- Reserve Items that are "in-library use only" must be returned to the Circulation Desk prior to closing.
- Students may be limited as to the number of Reserve Items they can sign out at one time from the same professor to ensure that all students have a chance to access the material.
- If a student has overdue items or unpaid fines/lost fees on his/her account, borrowing privileges (including the use of Reserve items) will be blocked until the account balance has been cleared.
Courses Using Both Physical Course Reserves and ERes
Any professor who has a course that has some items available at the Reserve Desk and other items available online through ERes will have the materials cross-referenced in both areas so that his/her students will always see a complete list of the reserve items for that course.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait