Material About Mr. Cormier
RECORD GROUP 2 MATERIAL ABOUT MR. CORMIER
Mr. Cormier has been writing professionally since the 1940's. The material in this record groups are those items that are biographical and critical in nature. The various series can be divided into biographical information and materials about his writings.
Mr. Cormier did collect reviews of his works, publicity concerning his writings, etc. and when the Collection was established it was decided that the curator should update and collect as much of the information as possible. Through the various resources of the FSC Library, the Collection does own copies of these secondary sources if information. By using the various indexes and abstracts and by utilizing the interlibrary loan services of the Library, the staff hopes to have a complete set of this type of information.
The majority of the documents are secondary sources of information with the exception of the correspondence in the censorship series (Series 6); the FSC class materials; and a speech by Don Gallo given at the presentation ceremony (Series 3).
Series 1 Reviews
Series 2 Criticisms and Interpretations
Series 3 Collection Presentation and Displays
Series 4 Biographies and interviews
Series 5 Publicity
Series 6 Censorship
Series 7 Books Owned by R. Cormier
Series 8 FSC Graduate Courses
Series 9 Awards and Honors
All items have OPEN access unless indicated.
Series 1 Reviews
Containers F1
Arranged by type of material that was reviewed
The documents are reviews of Mr. Cormier's works. There is a sub-series for each type of writing; sub-series 1 contains a folder for each one of the novels/short stories. See indexes.
Sub-series 1 Book Reviews
These include the reviews published in periodicals and newspapers as well as radio transcripts. They are arranged by title of the book.
Sub-series 2 is a collection of various lists of recommended readings. The titles on the lists include Mr. Cormier's works as well as other titles. They include various periodical publications, newspaper lists and other author's suggestions. These are representative samples only.
Sub-series 3 is a collection of the movie reviews for I AM THE CHEESE. This includes reviews from the video cassette and the 35mm film.
Sub-series 4 consists of reviews of audio cassettes which include:
"Robert Cormier: An Interview" The Book Report March/April, [n.d.]
"Robert Cormier: An Interview" School Library Journal, May, [n.d.]
"Robert Cormier: Two Novels and an Interview" Media Review, [n.d.]
See also sub-series 5 for reviews of printed interviews.
Sub-series 5 consists of reviews of printed interviews with Mr. Cormier. These include:
"Lit'ry Life" from The
See also sub-series 4 for reviews of interviews on audio cassettes.
Series 2 Criticisms and Interpretations
Containers F3 - F3.3
Arranged by title of the novel/short stories. See index.
This is a collection of criticisms and analysis of Mr. Cormier's books. The items include published works as well as unpublished works and Master's theses. They are arranged by title of the book. The individual criticisms are arranged as they arrive.
A separate container (F3.02) contains drafts of Ms. Patricia Campbell's book PRESENTING ROBERT CORMIER. Mr. Cormier was the first author chosen for Twayne's Young Adult series. Patty Campbell’s book Robert Cormier: Daring to Disturb the Universe, Delacorte, 2006 will be found here also along with Ms. Campbell’s research notes for this book which she donated to the Collection in 2007.
See also Series 8, FSC Class, for additional criticisms.
Series 3 Collection Presentation and Displays
Container F4
The Cormier Collection was officially presented to the Fitchburg State College Foundation, Inc. on
The Special Collection's Department has put on various displays highlighting items in the Collection. There will be found in this series, items that explain and date the various displays.
Series 4 Biographies and Interviews
Container F5
The documents are divided into a biographical sub-series and an interview sub-series. The biographical sub-series contain among other items, the articles from BOSTON MAGAZINE; SOMETHING ABOUT THE AUTHOR, v.10; and CONTEMPORARY AUTHORS.
The interviews sub-series contains copies of previously published interviews. An example of some of the items include articles from THE BOSTON GLOBE; THE LION AND THE UNICORN: and ST ANTHONY MESSENGER: HORN BOOK MAGAZINE, etc.
A great deal of information in these biographical sketches and interviews dovetail and overlap. See the indexes for a list of holdings.
Sub-series 1 Biographical information
Sub-series 2 Interviews
Series 5 Publicity
Containers F6-F8
Items included in this series include announcements, newspaper clippings, pamphlets, etc. used to promote Mr. Cormier's writings. The writings include his published books, movies, newspaper writings, etc. The items are divided into a book and a non-book sub-series. The publicity for the books is arranged by title and the publicity for the non-book items is arranged by Mr.Cormier's type of writing.
Sub-series 1 Books
Sub-series 2 Non-Book Writings
Series 6 Censorship
Container F9-F9.1
Various titles of Mr. Cormier's have been subject to censorship arguments and battles throughout the
THE CHOCOLATE WAR has consistently been targeted and action has been taken in
All items have limited access.
Series 7 Books
Container F10
The books included in this series are those books given to Mr. Cormier either as gifts or as book review copies. They do not include his own books. See index holdings.
Series 8 FSC Class
Container F11
Dr. Marilyn McCaffrey of Fitchburg State College has conducted a class through Graduate and Continuing Education Department of Fitchburg State College in each Fall semester since 1982. The course dealt with Young Adult Literature, but the first part of the course dealt with Mr. Cormier and his works. The Collection contains the class schedule, brochures, flyers, and any class assignments. Some but not all the assignments deal with criticisms.
All student papers have RESTRICTED access.
Series 9 Awards and Honors
Container F12
Mr. Cormier has been the recipient of many awards. Among them are proclamations from Gov. Dukakis of
His novels have also been granted special distinctions. See index for complete list.
Container F13
Dr. Marilyn McCaffrey began an annual tribute to Mr. Cormier’s writings in 2001. Participants read selected passages from his works. There are no introductions, no commentaries. Included in this series are the programs for these readings.
Subject Guide |
Ok-There is no photo of me but here is my cat Alley who allowed me to share his living quarters.
Periodicals Librarian
Room 205
Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library
978-665-3067
Send Email
Subjects:
Nursing, Humanities, Psychology/Counseling
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait