Biographical sketch
Containers G01-G11More specific container listings
Record Group 2Sub-record and Series
Sub-Records and Series
Sub-record Group and Series
Container Listings C04-C08Container Listings C09-14Container Listings C15-C20Container Listings C21-C25
Container Listings E07-E09Container Listings E10Container Listings E11-E12Container Listings E13Container Listings E14-E22
Container Listings F03Container Listings F04-F08Container Listings F09-F12
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Robert Cormier Collection 

Young adult author; collection includes correspondence, drafts, reviews, theses, photographs and more
Last update: Oct 23rd, 2009 URL: http://fsc.libguides.com/cormier  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Collection Overview             Print Page
  
 

Record Group 1

 

The Collection is divided into two Record Groups and a Graphics Lot Collection (see attached schedule). The first record group consists of Mr. Cormier's writings. It includes published works; drafts; editorial correspondence; and miscellaneous items. It is further divided into five sub-record groups and these are divided into distinct series. The sub groups are Newspaper/Periodicals; miscellaneous Writings and Activities; Short Stories/Novels; Unpublished Novels and Correspondence.

RECORD GROUP 1

 

The first sub group includes copies of Mr. Cormier's writings for newspapers and periodicals. Mr. Cormier has written columns, book reviews, and articles for newspapers and periodicals and has written various items strictly for newspapers. This is the rationale for the organization. There is a complete set of the "John Fitch IV" columns on microfilm; samples of "Story from the County"; a complete set of "1177 Main Street"; copies of book reviews and book review columns; a complete set of articles and essays Mr. Cormier has written; and various other items such as editorials, reports, etc. The items are arranged by titles of the newspaper or periodical; type of article; and then by date.

 

Th Miscellaneous Writings and Activities group include materials which document activities Mr. Cormier has undertaken such as personal appearances and judging activities. The writings include those items that could not be fit into the other categories. These include poetry, screenplays, movie scripts, commercial copy, speeches, radio activities, and essays published in books.

 

Sub-record  group three consists of Mr. Cormier's short stories and published novels. Mr. Cormier's first published piece of writing was a short story in 1947 and he has written approximately 120. The collection has copies of most of the published short stories and approximately 120 drafts with separate titles. These were published in periodicals and newspapers. Some of them, nine, were reprinted in 8 PLUS 1 and still others have been published in various anthologies.

 

Each of Mr. Cormier's published novels has been given a distinct series arranged in chronological order. Each series contains a published version of the novel and some but not all contain drafts, galleys, foreign language editions, blue pages, etc. Each series does contain editorial correspondence. This includes incoming, from the editors and agent, and Mr. Cormier's responses. The correspondence also contains letters from other professional writers who have offered comments on his novels. Each letter has been photocopied (until 1994) and the original and the copy are stored with the novels. Mr. Cormier's responses are carbon copies and have been typed. There are very few signatures of Mr. Cormier. Not every letter sent to Mr. Cormier has a copy of a response.

 

Sub-record group four contains Mr. Cormier's unpublished novels. There are three completed novels: ACT OF CONTRITION/FRENCH HILL, RUMPLE COUNTRY, and IN THE MIDST OF WINTER and the other titles are only fragments of novels. The sub-group is arranged into separate series for each of the distinct titles. Each series contains at least a partial draft of each work and correspondence for the three mentioned works.

 

Sub-record  group five contains correspondence. It is divided into outgoing, Mr. Cormier's letters; and incoming correspondence. It is sub-divided into personal, fan, and editorial correspondence. Editorial correspondence consists of letters between various editors of newspapers and magazines and Mr. Cormier. These are concerned with his writings. Editorial Correspondence dealing with his novels, short stories and unpublished novels will be located in sub-record groups 3 and 4.

 

Fan correspondence are letters of appreciation by the readers of Mr. Cormier's works. These include comments on all his writings. Mr. Cormier does answer all his correspondence but not all of his responses were kept by him. The editorial and fan letters are arranged by the type of Mr. Cormier's writings; for example, there is a folder for his magazine columns and a folder for each of his novels (fan letters only).

 

The personal correspondence is everything else. This includes requests for appearances, letters from friends and other writers, letters of recommendations, etc.

 

The correspondence in each of the sub-series is in chronological order with the undated letters in the first folder/container.

 

Á third series contains various contracts, account statements for the novels

and personal appearances fees.

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageJanice Ouellette
Contact Info:
Ok-There is no photo of me but here is my cat Alley who allowed me to share his living quarters.

Periodicals Librarian
Room 205
Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library
978-665-3067
Send Email

Subjects:
Nursing, Humanities, Psychology/Counseling

 
© 2000-2009 Fitchburg State College - 160 Pearl St., Fitchburg MA 01420-2697 - (978) 345-2151

The Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library is collecting anonymous traffic data for this website using Google Analytics

Description

  Loading content... please wait