A/V LOT 1 PHOTOGRAPHIC PRINTS
Containers G1-G2
Arranged in alphabetical order
This lot contains an alphabetical subject arrangement of photographic prints. It includes black and white prints as well as color prints. It is divided into two sections: 1) normal size prints and 2) oversize prints. Each section is arranged in alphabetical order. They are stored in acid free envelopes and each envelope provides the subject listing and the number of prints in the envelope.
The majority of the items are photographic prints, but there are other items in the Lot. They include copies of book jackets, some small publicity posters and a copy of Mr. Cormier's grade school diploma.
A/V LOT 2 LARGE FORMAT PRINTS
Containers G3-G4
This lot consists of 23 black and white large format prints of various scenes in the Leominster/Fitchburg area. This was a class assignment for the Fall semester 1982. Large Format Photography class of Fitchburg State College. The instructor was Peter Laytin. The prints represent various geographic areas from Mr. Cormier's life and his writings.
The students had to read Mr. Cormier's books and then photograph areas that were represented in the books.
There are 11 8"x10" prints and 12 11"x14" prints. They are black and white and are ferro positive prints. They are stored in two containers and are arranged by size.
A/V LOT 3 VIDEO TAPES
Container G5 INTERVIEWS
CHEESE, CHOCOLATE AND KIDS is a 27 minute color video tape produced by Nick Eckhardt and written and directed by Frank McLaughlin under the auspices of Glassboro State College and Fairleigh Dickinson University. It was proposed as a project for television broadcast through the Public Broadcasting System. It is a day in the life of Robert Cormier. It includes conversation, an interview, and a drive around the neighborhoods of Leominster and Fitchburg Massachusetts. There is 1 VHS tape, 1 BETA tape, 4 DVD copies, and 3 3/4" tapes
EVENING MAGAZINE TAPE is a 10-12 minute color video tape of a segment of the television show EVENING MAGAZINE of April 26, 1983 from WBZ-TV in Boston. It is a tape about Mr. Cormier, his writing and the movie premier of I AM THE CHEESE. It is a 3/4" SONY video tape. There is only one copy. The copyright belongs to the Westinghouse Broadcasting Company.
IN PRINT SHOW #88 This is a VHS tape from Los Angeles in 1985. Length is 28:39. There is 1 VHS recording adn 2 DVD copies
SHARE THE EXCITEMENT:FIVE LEADING YOUNG ADULT AUTHORS From Dell/Delacorte Speak Out on Writing for Teens in the 90s. 1992. 2ndcopy gift of Dr. Marilyn McCaffrey, 2006. There are 2 VHS recordings and 2 DVD copiesDVD copies.
[Robert Cormier], 10-12-82, tape <30 minutes. Gift of Dr. Marilyn McCaffrey, 2006.
ITV Nites Spring 79 and Robert Cormier 10/12/82. Gift of Dr. Marilyn McCaffrey, 2006.
GOOD CONVERSATION An interview from Tim Podell Productions, length is 24 minutes 1 VHS recording and 2 DVD copies.y.
BARBARA AND YOU A 1981 interview with Barbara Tienhan from Leominster, Mass. 1 3/4" video tape and 2 DVDs
Container G5.01
THE CHOCOLATE WAR
It was produced in 1980/81 and there are two copies. It is a 3/4" SONY video tape. There are three Beta recordingS, 2 DVD copies of the Beta recording, two VHS recordings and 2 DVD copies of the VHS. This is a VHS recording c1989 released by Forum House Video and directed by Keith Gordon.
I AM THE CHEESE
This is the VHS video recording and it is a 96 minute, color tape of the film. Released by the I Am The Cheese Co. and Vestron Video. The film was produced by David Lange; directed by Robert Jiras; and the screenplay was written by David Lange and Robert Jiras. Copyright date is 1984. There is also a Beta video recording of the film. It is a copy made from cable television.
LAPSE OF MEMORY
This film was based on I AM THE CHEESE. It was produced by a French company, filmed in Canadawith English speaking actors. It is a color, VHS cassette. Donated to the collection by Janice Ouellette in 2000.
THE BUMBLEBEE FLIES ANYWAY
This VHS tape is c1999 from The Shooting Gallery, released by USA Home Entertainment and stars Elijah Wood, Janeane Garofalo, and Rachel Leigh Cook. Directed by Martin Duffy. Running time: 95 minutes.
Container G5.02 I AM THE CHEESE Movie Premiere Activities
I AM THE CHEESE PREMIERE This is the two hour unedited color video tape prepared by Channel 3, a Leominster area cable television station. It is a recording of the activities dealing with the movie premiere of I AM THE CHEESE on April 23, 1983. It includes a press conference, interviews, scenes from the movie, a roast of Mr. Cormier, etc…
I AM THE CHEESE PREMIERE This is a 57 minute edited version of the activities that took place on the night of the premier of I AM THE CHEESE. It is a color video tape prepared by Channel 3 of Leominster. Copyright is 1983. It is a 3/4" SONY video cassette.
ROAST TAPE This is an unedited version of the Robert Cormier Roast prepared by Channel 3, a Leominster area cable television station. It is a recording of the roast that took place on the night of the movie premier of I AM THE CHEESE. Copyright is 1983. It is 1/2" video cassette.
Items inlcude:
I Am the Cheese Prenier- 2DVDs Premier & Roast Unedited- 1 VHS
Premier & Roast Unedited -2DVDs Robert Cormier Roast- 1 VHS
Robert Cormier Roast (copy form 3/4" tapes)-2 DVDs Premier & Roast (edited?)- 1 VHS
I Am the Cheese Picture Premier (copy from 3/4" tapes)-2 DVDs I Am the Cheese (2 hour piece) pt 1 & 2-
Robert Cormier (57 minuted edited version)-2 DVDs 2 3/4" tapes
Container 5.03 MISCELLANEOUS
BEYOND THE CHOLOLATE WAR. A high school adaption of the film by the Lojas English class from Riverside/Brookfield HS in 1994 DVD (2)
A/V LOT 4 REALIA
Containers G6-G9
Mr. Cormier has been given a number of items to commemorate his writings. These are the following:
The bicycle used in the filming of I AM THE CHEESE;
A game board and pieces depicting activities in Mr. Cormier's works. It was presented by Mrs. Dorothy Petrecca of the Woodlands Unite 126 of May's Landing, NJ;
Memorabilia from a visit by Mr. Cormier to the 2nd grade of the Southwest School in Leominster, Mass. Items include gifts, drawings, a stuffed pig.
Carved mice done in styrofoam by Mr. Louis Charpentier of Leominster. It is a carving of two mice on a piece of Swiss Cheese with the words I AM THE CHEESE on the pedestal. It was presented on April 23, 1983.
Souvenir pennant from the Princess Ann Junior High School, Virginia Beach, Virginia.
Key to the City of Worcester, June 12, 1991.
A/V LOT 5 RECORDINGS
Container G10
This lot contains audio cassettes and records. They are:
1. DISTURB THE UNIVERSE, a tape recording of a song entitled "Disturb the
Universe" by Stephen Gawronski. It is a 60 minute cassette and it includes drafts and a letter of explanation.
2. THE CHOCOLATE WAR, a dramatization of Mr. Cormier's THE CHOCOLATE
WAR. It is a two sided tape produced by Miller Brody Productions. Total time is 50 minutes.
3. AFTER THE FIRST DEATH, a dramatization of Mr. Cormier's AFTER THE
FIRST DEATH. It is a two sided tape produced by Miller Brody Prodictions. It is a 43 minute tape.
4. I AM THE CHEESE, a dramatization of Mr. Cormier's I AM THE CHEESE. It is
two sided produced by Miller Brody Productions. Total time is 50 minutes.
ROBERT CORMIER: An Interview. This is an interview with Mr. Cormier. It was
Produced by Miller Brody Productions and total time is 43 minutes.
5. An Author Luncheon with Robert Cormier. This is a recording of a speech by Mr.
Cormier given at the ALA Conference in Dallas for the Young Adult Services Division in 1979.
6. Voice of America Interview. This is a 30 minute cassette interview conducted for
The Voice of America in 1982.
7. Record. A 33 1/3 rpm recording of poems and sonnets written and read by Robert
Cormier. Dated 1944.
8. A cassette recording of an interview with the students of Godby High School
dealing with I AM THE CHEESE. Dated January 1985.
9. One 33 1/3 rpm recording of a dramatization of the novel THE CHOCOLATE
WAR. Copyright 1977, published by Miller Brody Productions.
10. Bookshelf: Week 20 21st/23rd, May 1993, BBC.
11. Author Folks, Robert Cormier, Walter Dean Myers, Patricia MacLachlan, Ann Martin, Milton Meltzer. Children's Book Council, 1990.
12. I Am The Cheese Project Songwriting, Wayland Middle School, April 11, 1990.
In Celebrated Company - Robert Cormier - 3/16/88.
13. Robert Cormier's Writing - 5/1/86. Piano Industry, Emily Smith 4/3/86
14. Discussion of 'The Moustache,' Lincoln, Nebraska, Lefler Junior High School, 9th Grade, 11/6/85
15. Interview with Robert Cormier - Background and Development as a Writer - 12/8/81.
16. Robert Cormier - Leslie McCarter & Amy Schuessler.
17. Telephone conference call – Connecticut
18. Questions from Mrs. Ante
19. Frenchtown Summer, Listening Library, c2000, audio tape performed by Rene
Auberjonois. – 2 copies
20. Chocolate War -30thAnniversary Edition, audiobook read by Frank Muller,
Listening Library, 2004.
A/V LOT 6 HANGINGS/POSTERS
Container G11
The items in this lot are posters and wall hangings. They include the following:
I AM THE CHEESE movie poster;
Publicity posters for THE CHOCOLATE WAR and I AM THE CHEESE;
Fitchburg-Leominster Sentinel and Enterprise poster honoring Mr. Cormier for his Honorary Doctorate from Fitchburg State College;
I AM THE CHEESE charcoal poster;
Heath #1 Questions About Your Novel;
THE ROAD LEADS HOME, a photo collage from Leominster Public Library commemorating the movie premier of I AM THE CHEESE;
Autograph signing sign for I AM THE CHEESE movie premiere;
I AM THE CHEESE movie posters (3);
OWL AND THE WOODPECKER by George Krautner;
2 book jackets poster of AFTER THE FIRST DEATH;
THE CHOCOLATE WAR;
MONUMENT DISPATCH, mock-up of a newspaper page'
Desiderata (damaged);
"The Gates of Jerusalem," by Bracha Brym-Lavee
[Window - Bird + Birdfeeder] by Deb Dutreau and Elyse Kopley, Gardner High School,
Winner in Artistic Interpretation of a Cormier Novel (The Moustache), Robert Cormier
Symposium, October 22, 1994. Donated by Dr. Marilyn A McCaffrey, June 2002.