Online Translators
These tools can translate entire blocks of text, but beware - they don't always produce proper grammar!
Database Tools
Some of the library databases come with built in tools to focus your search.
- EBSCO Language Interface Choose the language of your results in EBSCO's databases.
- LexisNexis Can sort News and other results by language and country of origin.
Distributed Learning - Additional Library Services
Distributed learning library services are the same on campus services (borrowing materials, interlibrary loan, library instruction, reference, reserves, etc.) tailored to meet the needs of our students & faculty in our extended campus and online courses and programs.This includes document delivery directly to your home and much more.
Online Dictionaries and Resources
These sources provide information on the French language and culture.
- About.com: Learning French
French study tips, a language blog, audio files, and more. - The ARTFL Project: University of Chicago
The Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language. - Electronic Text Center: French Resources Complete works of literature in French (some texts available only to UVa students and faculty).
- The Free Dictionary: French
- French Language Tutorials
Basic grammar and vocabulary tutorials, mp3s to aid with pronunciation, as well as interactive exercises. - French Resources: Harvard University
- Houghton Mifflin French Resource Center
- Resources for Language Learners: French
- Tennessee Bob's Famous French Links Despite the entertaining name, this site is a clearinghouse of thousands of links to French language, culture, and literature.
- WordReference
Free online translation dictionary.
French Dictionaries on the Shelves
- Mistakable French: A Dictionary of Words and Phrases REF PC2593.T46 1985
- New Cassell's French Dictionary REF PC2640.C3 197
- Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary REF PC2640.O83 1997
French Newspapers
- Le Monde
- Le Parisien
- Online Newspapers.com: France A complete list of French newspapers online.
Meet your Librarian! |
Jenny FieldingContact Info:
Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library
Fitchburg State College
978-665-3197
Send Email
Subjects:
Humanities, Psychology, Geophysical Sciences, Theater Arts
Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library
Fitchburg State College
978-665-3197
Send Email
Subjects:
Humanities, Psychology, Geophysical Sciences, Theater Arts
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait