Special Colllections
Massachusetts is one of the most historically rich states in the country. Our libraries, museums and historical societies have collected this history for those who are interested in learning more. As you do research, these items are some primary sources for you to consider using. A number are being digitized for access via the web. Others are still or will always be in their original form. The Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners has put together a list of special collections. You can search it to find the location of the collections that may help you with your research.
- Manuscripts, Archives & Special Collections
The Manuscripts, Archives and Special Collections Directory profiles collections in more than 650 Massachusetts libraries, archives, historical societies and town clerk's offices.
Mass Moments

Loading Podcast Content...
Scholarly Articles
- Credo Reference **Best Bet**
- An Atlas of Massachusetts River Systems: Ref G 1231 .C315 A8 1990
- The Massachusetts political almanac: Ref. JK3130.A6 -- Lastest ed. at Reference Desk
- Highway to the past : the Archaeology of Boston's Big Dig: Ref. F73.39.H53 2001
- The encyclopedia of Massachusetts: Ref. F64.E53 1999
Scholarly Articles
- Massachusetts History Online
Contains full-text articles gathered from almost 50 sources that directly relate to Massachusetts history, both past and present, including people, places, historical events and more. - America: History & Life Complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- Historical Abstracts
historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). - JSTOR Archive of important scholarly journals in many disciplines.
- Project Muse An online collection of several hundred scholarly journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences; contains full text scholarly journals from univeristy and society presses.
- Academic Search Premier Use this if the other three don't have what you are looking for.
History On the Web
- About Massachusetts
Learn more about the state from the mass.gov website. - Massachusetts Historical Commission
To meet the challenge of preserving this important heritage, the Massachusetts Historical Commission (MHC) was established by the legislature in 1963 to identify, evaluate, and protect important historical and archaeological assets of the Commonwealth. - Massachusetts Historical Society
The Massachusetts Historical Society is an independent research library that collects, preserves, makes accessible, and communicates manuscripts and other materials in order to promote the study of the history of Massachusetts. - Directory of all Historical Societies in Massachusetts
Find local historical societies. - MassMoments
The Massachusetts Foundation for the Humanities launched the Mass Moments project—an electronic almanac of Massachusetts history.
Who is Sara? |
Sara MarksOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
978-665-4337
Office is in room 112- behind the circulation desk
Send Email
Subjects:
Comm Media, Sociology, Women's Studies, History, Human Services
![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
978-665-4337
Office is in room 112- behind the circulation desk
Send Email
Subjects:
Comm Media, Sociology, Women's Studies, History, Human Services
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait