Quick Facts
- Credo Reference **Best Bet**
- Encyclopedia Americana
- Almanacs of American Life REF E162.P86
- Atlas of the Civil War REF G120l.S5A85 1994
- Historical Atlas of the United States REF G120l.S1L6 1969
- American National Biography REF CT213.A68 1999
- Notable American Women, 1607-1950 REF CT3260.N57
- Civil War Dictionary REF E468.B7 1988
- Dictionary of the Vietnam War REF DS557.7.D53 1988
- Historical Dictionary of the American Revolution REF E209.M36 1999
- Documents of American History REF E173.D59 1988
- Battle Chronicles of the Civil War REF E470.B29 1989
- Encyclopedia of the American Constitution REF KF4548.E53
- Encyclopedia of American Economic History REF HC103.E52
- Encyclopedia of American Social History REF HN57.E58 1993
- Encyclopedia of the American West REF F591.E485 1996
- Encyclopedia of Colonial & Revolutionary America REF E188.E63 1990
- Encyclopedia of the Confederacy REF E487.E55 1993
- Encyclopedia of the North American Colonies REF E45.E53 1993
- Encyclopedia of Southern History REF F207.7.E52
- Reference Guide to United States Military History REF E181.R34 1991
- Sixties in America REF E841.S55 1999
Teaching American History

Loading Podcast Content...
How Stuff Works
HowStuffWorks.com is one of the coolest things on the web. They have created some great guides to help you learn more about various topics. Check out their US History Guide for even more information:
Scholarly Articles
- America: History & Life Complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- Historical Abstracts
historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). - JSTOR Archive of important scholarly journals in many disciplines.
- Project Muse An online collection of several hundred scholarly journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences; contains full text scholarly journals from univeristy and society presses.
- Academic Search Premier Use this if the other three don't have what you are looking for.
History On the Web
Digital archives are the easiest way to get access to primary documents. Many of the websites bellow are digital archives and play an important role in your research.
- Daily Life America
A searchable, and ever-expanding, website that spotlights the day-to-day lives of average Americans, past and present. A virtual library of thousands of diverse sources: award-winning reference works, primary documents, illustrations, maps. - American Memory
A service of the Library of Congress. Excellent source for documents, manuscripts,maps, photos and prints. Able to search by time period or place. - Archiving Early America
unique array of primary source material from 18th Century America - Avalon Project
The Avalon Project mounts digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government - A Chronology of US Historical Documents
Pre-colonial to the most recent state of the union address - Common Place
Sponsored by the American Antiquarian Society and the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. - Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement
The materials in this on-line archival collection document various aspects of the Women's Liberation Movement in the United States, and focus specifically on the radical origins of this movement during the late 1960s and early 1970s. - Documenting the American South
digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes twelve thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, etc. - From Revolution to Reconstruction
A Hypertext on American History from the colonial period until Modern Times - Historical Maps of the United States
A great archive of historical maps - The Literature of Intelligence
This is a bibliography. Use the table of contents to narrow your subject. You will find suggested readings and commentary by the creators. - Making of America
a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction - National Archives
Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever - The Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive
a research facility for scholars of U.S. public policy. The Library's collection is a specialized one focused on American politics and history with special attention paid to the American presidency. - The United States Civil War Center
The mission of the United States Civil War Center is to promote interdisciplinary study of the American Civil War. - Letters of Delegates to Congress Links: U.S. Congressional Documents The twenty-six volumes of the Letters of Delegates to Congress, 1774-1789 aims to make available all the documents written by delegates that bear directly upon their work during their years of actual service in the First and Second Continental Congresses,
- ATLA Cooperative Digitial Resources Initiative

Provides access to digital images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, postcards, manuscripts, lithographs, sermons, shape-note tune books, and various forms of Christian art, architecture, and iconography. - The National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections
Get access to our nations historic documents.
Who is Sara? |
Sara Marks![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
978-665-4337
Office is in room 112- behind the circulation desk
Send Email
Subjects:
Comm Media, Sociology, Women's Studies, History, Human Services
Digital Archives
Archives use to simply be physical collections of items, papers and photographs. These days more and more people have been creating digitized collection by scanning in everything they can and creating webpages to help people around the world see them. The next step is to socialize these archives. By using social networking tools people are making the archiving process interactive and a group process. Check out these social archives and consider participating yourself!
- Library of Congress and Flickr
The Library of Congress has been scanning their photos, loading them to Flickr and allowing people to add tags, notes and information. - American Social History Provides scholars with access to distributed digital library collections pertaining to 19th and 20th century United States social history.
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait