Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Intro. to Exercise Science  Tags: exercise sports_science  

For students in Dr. Pellinger's EXSS 1011: Introduction to Exercise Science class.
Last update: Oct 21st, 2009 URL: http://fsc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=2053  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Welcome

This guide contains all the resources you need to complete the presentation project assignment for this class.

Citations

Citing your sources is one of the most important steps in doing research.  RefWorks will allow you to store and organize your citations as well as easily create your annotated bibliography and final paper in APA style.  

  • RefWorks  
      
    Use this to organize your citations
  • APA Style  
      
    Get more help using the APA style for citation.

Request from other libraries

If our databases don't have the articles you need available as full-text we can request a copy from another library.  Fill out this form and we'll email it to you in about a week.

 

Searching for Articles

Search these databases to find scholarly articles, academic articles or peer-reviewed articles.  The terms may be different but the meaning is the same.  Databases are listed in order of usefulness to the Exercise and Sport Science discipline.

  • Medline  
      
    This will focus more on the health related topics.
  • SPORTDiscus  
      
    This is the best option for sports articles but only have 4 people can use the database at the same time. If you can not access this database try again later.
  • PubMed Central  
      
    Find highly scientific peer reviewed journal articles.
  • Health Source: Academic Edition  
      
    Scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical and health topics.
  • Health Reference Center Academic  
      
    Full text of nursing and allied health journals.
  • Academic Search Premier  
      
    Academic multi-disciplinary database; full text articles in all fields.

Scholarly Journals vs Magazines/Trade Journals

What is the difference between scholarly/academic/peer reviewed journal articles and magazines or trade journals??
Look for the following to identify an academic or peer reviewed journal article or take a look at this site:

  • written by expert in field (a professor or other academic)  
  • authors are not paid to publish their research  
  • conducts research study or builds on another's research  
  • article contains abstract, summarizing research  
  • cities sources, contains references and bibliography  
  • academic journals are not in the business to make money; magazines and trade journals are  
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageNatasha Kahn


Contact Info:
Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library
Fitchburg State College
978-665-4869
Send Email

 
© 2000-2009 Fitchburg State College - 160 Pearl St., Fitchburg MA 01420-2697 - (978) 345-2151

The Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library is collecting anonymous traffic data for this website using Google Analytics

Description

  Loading content... please wait