Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Law for the Educator  Tags: law education  

This guide is for Kristyn Snyer's EDLM 8020: Law for the Educator class.
Last update: Sep 21st, 2009 URL: http://fsc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=20411  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Welcome

This guide contains all the resources you need to complete your assignments for EDLM 8020: Law for the Educator class. 

For further information...

This guide is specifically for your class.  You may also find the resources on the  Education/Special Education and Law libguides helpful:

Citations

Use one of these guides for proper APA citations:

  • APA Citation Style  
    This website is a great way to figure out the basics of citations in APA style. Contains examples.
  • RefWorks  
    Manage citations from databases and the web to easily share or add to your research papers.
 

Law and Education databases

These databases will be most helpful to you as you search for laws, court cases, statutes and other legal materials:

  • LexisNexis  
    Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
  • U.S. Law Week  
    National coverage of significant cases and key legislative and regulatory developments across all areas of the law, summaries of selected federal court, state court and administrative cases. Access Supreme Court Today via link on left side of screen.
  • Educator's Reference Complete  
    A selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.
  • ERIC  
    The Education Resources Information Center contains full text, references, citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals. This database is via EBSCO.
  • Professional Development Collection  
    Designed for professional educators; provides high quality education journals, including peer-reviewed titles
 

Some suggested titles

Not sure where to start your research?  Take a look at these resources for overviews of your topic:

Encyclopedia of Education Law. KF4117.E53 2008 v.1 & 2

Provides overview of popular legal issues in education.

Deskbook Encyclopedia of American School Law. REF KF4119.3.D47 2009 Latest Ed.

Subjects covered include Accidents, injuries and death; Religion and public schools; Freedom of Speech; Student Rights; Student Discipline; Employment Practices, Discrimination, Termination; Tenure; Labor Relations; School Operations; Academic Practices; Students with Disabilities; Private Schools; Interscholastic Athletics. Includes Table of US Supreme Court Education Cases.

Yearbook of Education Law. REF KF4102.5.Y4 2008

Contents: Employees; School Governance; Students; Bargaining; Students with Disabilities; Torts; Sports; Higher Education; Students in Higher Education; Federal and State Legislation. Includes Table of Cases, and Cases by Jurisdiction. (Previously Yearbook of School Law)

Or take a look in the Library Catalog to see if we have any books on your topic!

Newspapers - full-text artilces

You can search newspapers to find news articles about court cases and laws:

  • Newspaper Source - EBSCO  
      
    Selected full text for regional, national (U.S.) and international newspapers; full text television & radio news transcripts.
  • Proquest Newspapers  
      
    Includes full-text coverage of major national newspapers, inlcuding the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post and NY Times, as well as Massachusetts newspapers including the Boston Globe, Boston Herald, Quincy Patriot Ledger and the Worcester Telegram &
  • New York Times via Gale InfoTrac  
      
    Full-text to the New York Times is avaailable from 1995 to present.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageNatasha Kahn


Contact Info:
Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library
Fitchburg State College
978-665-4869
Send Email

 
© 2000-2009 Fitchburg State College - 160 Pearl St., Fitchburg MA 01420-2697 - (978) 345-2151

The Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library is collecting anonymous traffic data for this website using Google Analytics

Description

  Loading content... please wait