Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Nursing Research Guide  Tags: nursing nursing_students nursing_theory  

Suggested resources to use when beginning research on nursing topics.
Last update: Sep 25th, 2008 URL: http://fsc.libguides.com/nursing  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Databases             Print Page
  
 
 

To begin

Your task is to find scholarly, reserach articles. Using Google or Wikipedia is a start but your professor may not want you to use these two very popular tools. Did you know that the Library offers subject specific databases to find appropriate, current articles? You should use the following databases to search, identify and retrieve your needs in nursing literature.

To find journal literature

These databases are probably ones you will want to search first. There are other additional databases in related subjects below this section.
  • CINAHLplus with Full-Text  
      
    Comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 560 journals indexed in CINAHL. Results can include CEUs, Evidence-based care sheets, Quick lessons and Search Strategies.
  • Health Reference Center Academic  
      
    Full text of nursing and allied health journals.
  • Health Source:Nursing/Academic Edition  
      
    Scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical and nursing disciplines.
  • MEDLINE  
      
    Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
  • Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Source  
      
    Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. Includes reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more.
  • NLM Gateway  
      
    "One-stop searching" for many of the information resources or databases at the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Site includes link to PubMed where users can limit searches to just Nursing journals!

Related databases

 These subject specific resources allow you to search for articles from psychology, counseling, family issues, consumer health, biomedicine, sociology. Full-text articles are available.
  • Academic Search Premier  
      
    Academic multi-disciplinary database; full text articles in all fields.
  • Academic OneFile  
      
    Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles in many subjects.
  • Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic  
      
    Full text journals in a variety of areas pertaining to medical study
  • Health Source: Consumer Edition  
      
    Authoritative information on health-related questions.
  • Proquest Health Management  
      
    Articles pertaining to the business side of hospitals and healthscare. Find non-clinical information covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies
  • Proquest Psychology Journals  
      
    Full-text coverage from top psychology and related publications. Users get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research
  • Proquest Social Science Journals  
      
    Search full-text scientific journals covering the social sciences. provides information on hundreds of topics, including: Addiction studies, Urban studies, Family studies, International relations
  • PsycARTICLES  
      
    Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from 53 journals published by the American Psychological Association.
  • PsycINFO  
      
    Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection  
      
    Full text coverage on topics: emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
  • SocIndex with Full-Text  
      
    Comprehensive sociology research database; contains full text for books and monographs, journals and conference papers.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageNancy Turnbull
 
© 2000-2009 Fitchburg State College - 160 Pearl St., Fitchburg MA 01420-2697 - (978) 345-2151

The Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library is collecting anonymous traffic data for this website using Google Analytics

Description

  Loading content... please wait