Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Art Research Guide  Tags: art resources  

Art Research Guide providing resources on the visual arts.
Last update: Jul 10th, 2009 URL: http://fsc.libguides.com/art  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Books             Print Page
  

eBooks

More and more reference is available online. The Library provides titles from Credo Reference and Gale Virtual Reference Library.

 
 

Books

These are some print titles you may find useful for your research. Be sure to search the library catalog for additional books.

Biography:
Artists of the Nineteenth Century and Their Works. REF N40.C4
Lives of the Great Twentieth Century Artists. REF N6489.L83
Women Artists, 1550-1950. REF N6350.H35 1977

Dictionaries:

Dictionary of Abstract Painting. REF ND35.B413
Dictionary of Ornament. REF NK1165.L48
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art. REF N7560.H34
Phaidon Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art. REF N6490.P46

Directories:

American Art Galleries: Illustrated Guide to Their Art & Artists. REF N510.A48
Art Museums of the World. REF N410.A78
Artists and Writers Colonies: Retreats, Residencies and Respites for the Creative Mind. REF NX110. B69 1995
Who's Who in Art. REF N40.W46

Encyclopedias:

Concise Encyclopedia of Surrealism. REF NX600.S9P7
Encyclopedia of Furniture. NK2205.A7
Encyclopedia of Pottery and Porcelain, 1800-1960. NK3920.C36
Encyclopedia of Visual Art. REF N25. E25 1983 10 vols.
Encyclopedia of World Art. REF N31.E533
Dictionary of Art. REF N31.D5 1996 34 vols. (This set has been called "the most comprehensive art reference" available.)

Indexes:
Art in LIFE. REF N7525.C55
Illustration Index. REF N7525.I45
Index to Art Reproductions in Books. REF N7525.H48
Index to Reproductions of American Paintings. REF ND205.M57

Print indexes also provide information on where you can get articles or books, particularly articles that date before the 1990s. These volumes are shelved on the second floor of the library at the end of the periodicals. Current journal articles can be found by using our online databases, encyclopedias or websites.

Art Index, 1929-1950, 1957-1984.
Humanities Index, 1974/75-1983/84.
International Index, 1907-1965. Index to articles in the Social Sciences and Humanities. (Index was retitled Social Sciences and Humanites Index in 1965.)
Social Sciences and Humanities Index, 1965-1974.(Previously titled the International Index.)

 

Meet your Librarian!

Profile ImageJenny Fielding


Contact Info:
Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library
Fitchburg State College
978-665-3197
Send Email

Subjects:
Humanities, Psychology, Geophysical Sciences, Theater Arts

 
© 2000-2009 Fitchburg State College - 160 Pearl St., Fitchburg MA 01420-2697 - (978) 345-2151

The Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library is collecting anonymous traffic data for this website using Google Analytics

Description

  Loading content... please wait