This is the "Home" page of the "Education Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Early Childhood EducationHigher EducationK-12 EducationSpecial EducationVocational/Occupational Education

Admin Sign In 

Education Research Guide  Tags: education secondary_education high_school middle_school elementary_school k-12 school_administration teacher teaching  

This guide provides resources and information to help you get started with your research projects in the field of education. Need additional help? Please contact me!
Last update: Dec 08th, 2009 URL: http://fsc.libguides.com/educationguide  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Distributed Learning - Additional Library Services

Distributed learning library services are the same on campus services (borrowing materials, interlibrary loan, library instruction, reference, reserves, etc.) tailored to meet the needs of our students & faculty in our extended campus and online courses and programs.This includes document delivery directly to your home and much more.

Research appointments available!

Don't overlook one of your best resources - your Gallucci-Cirio Librarians! 

  • Stop by my office any time, but to ensure that I will be available, it is best to make an appointment. 
  • Set up an appointment to meet in my vRoom online through Elluminate! 
  • Questions by phone or email are also welcome.


Need help getting started, developing your search strategy, focusing your topic and selecting "keywords", deciding what type of resources you need as well as how to use them? The librarians are here to assist you whether you have a home work assignment or an indepth research project to complete.

      
     

    Research databases providing content across all education levels!

    Need to find articles, books or other research materials related to the field of Education? 

    There a large number of databases available, each one different from another in a variety of ways. They may have very different search features and options. Some databases are subject specific while others cover a more general, broad-based range of subject areas. They may provide full online access to some or all of the items (article, book, video, etc.), or they may provide only an abstract or partial clip, or just list the item's citation information.

    Academic Search Premier, ERIC and Education Journals are great databases to start with for just about any education topic. The other databases listed below are additional resources you may also want to use depending on your topic. Don't get discouraged if the item you want is not full text in the database you are using - there are several ways you can still get it! See the Articles and Books & Reference Materials sections of this guide.

    • Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)  
        
      Multi-disciplinary. It provides indexing and abstracts for 8,144 journals (nearly 4,500 are full text journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles).
    • Buros Mental Measurements Yearbook  
        
      Descriptions and critical reviews of commercially available English language tests.
    • Education Journals (Proquest)  
        
      Coverage includes primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics; access to over 745 top educational publications, including nearly 600 of the titles in full text.
    • ERIC (EBSCOHost)  
        
      The Education Resources Information Center contains full text, references, citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related sources.
    • JSTOR  
        
      Click on Advanced Search, scroll down to Disciplines and select "Education" or one of the six specific journal titles.
    • LEXIS-NEXIS Academic  
        
      Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
    • Professional Development Collection (EBSCOhost)  
        
      Designed for professional educators; provides high quality education journals, including peer-reviewed titles.
    • PsycARTICLES (EBSCOhost)  
        
      Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
    • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection  
        
      Provides nearly 575 full text publications, most of these peer-reviewed titles. It covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, and more.
    • PsycINFO (EBSCOhost)  
        
      Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
    • SportDiscus (EBSCOhost)  
        
      Comprehensive bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines.
    • Teacher Reference Center  
        
      Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. The Database provides some full-text articles.
     

    Subject Guide

    Profile ImageLinda LeBlanc
    Contact Info:
    978 665-3062

    Access Services / Reference Office, 1st Floor behind the Circulation Desk
    Send Email

    Subjects:
    Education, Vocational/Occupational Education, Special Education

     
    © 2000-2009 Fitchburg State College - 160 Pearl St., Fitchburg MA 01420-2697 - (978) 345-2151

    The Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library is collecting anonymous traffic data for this website using Google Analytics

    Description

      Loading content... please wait