This is the "Home" page of the "Criminal Justice Shortcuts" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Criminal Justice Shortcuts  Tags: criminal_justice corrections crime cyber_crime juvenile_justice hate_crimes terrorism white_collar_crimes organized_crime police prisons punishment  

Criminal Justice resources are found all over the library and internet. Find the best places for statistical data, judicial information and even Massachusetts specific information.
Last update: Sep 11th, 2009 URL: http://fsc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=1056  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

What Does Full Text Mean?

Full Text is one of the best tools for students and researchers.  It means the database or reserouces has the entire text of an article or book right there for you to read on your computer or print for later.  It saves time because you do not need to find a copy of the book, magazine or journal again.  You do not need to photocopy any pages either.  Be aware that not everything is in full text everywhere.  One database may have the full text, but another does not.  Look for the Get Article link with your results to find the full text in another tool.  It doesn't mean it exists, but that we will quickly try to find it for you.

 

What is a Journal?

Professors often ask you to use Journal Articles for your research.  What do you think they mean when the say that?
A Blog
Something I write my thoughts in
Something my professors tell me to use
A magazine like publication for academics on a specific subject

 

Chat

Chat with Law Librarians for more help:
MA Law Libraries Chat
 

Reference Resources of Note

Reference tools are things like encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases and biographies.  These are great for getting a comprehensive overview of a topic or to help get ideas for your prroject.  Here is a sample of some great reference tools.  More can be found by clicking on the Reference Resources tab.
  • Nolo - Your Legal Companion  
      
    This free legal encyclopedia is a good starting point for legal research. It provides detailed overviews of topics like copyright, bankruptcy, consumer right and much more. This is written without use of jargon so it is easy to understand.

Go Beyond Fitchburg State

Massachusetts has a great legal library system with a branch right here in Fitchburg.  You can get your own free library card and use their resources from their library or even your home.  Don't be afraid to ask them for research help either.  These are legal specialist and know all about the tools you can use for research.
 

Find Government Information

 The U.S. government produces tons of useful information published by federal departments and agencies:

  • Google's Uncle Sam - search for information and and reports from national and state websites.
  • GPO Monthly Catalog - U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments.

Terrorism Resources

These sources are great for research about terrorism

White Collar Crimes

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageNatasha Kahn


Contact Info:
Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library
Fitchburg State College
978-665-4869
Send Email

 
© 2000-2009 Fitchburg State College - 160 Pearl St., Fitchburg MA 01420-2697 - (978) 345-2151

The Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library is collecting anonymous traffic data for this website using Google Analytics

Description

  Loading content... please wait