Your Text Books
- The Secret Garden - Frances Hodgson Burnett
Call Number: C.L. PZ7.B934 Sec 1962
ISBN/ISSN: 0694011100 - Alice's adventures in Wonderland; and, Through the looking-glass and what Alice found there - Lewis Carroll
Call Number: PR4611.A7 1971
ISBN/ISSN: 0192553410 - Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of N.I.M.H. - Robert C. O'Brien
Call Number: C.L. PZ10.3.O135 Mrs 1986
ISBN/ISSN: 0689710682 - Let the Circle Be Unbroken - Mildred D. Taylor
Call Number: Y.A. PZ7.T21723 Let 1981
ISBN/ISSN: 0803747489 - Charlotte’s Web - E.B. White
Call Number: C.L. PS3545.H5187C52 1980
ISBN/ISSN: 0060263865 - Dragonwings - Laurence Yep
Call Number: C.L. PZ7.Y44 Dra 1975
ISBN/ISSN: 0060267372
Research Authors
Try these sources to do more research about specific authors
- Something About the Author is a collection of biographies about different authors. Major authors may have done autobiographies. You can find these books on the first floor of the library in the reference collection: Ref. PN452.C65
- Dictionary of Literary Biography is a collection of biographies on specific themes and topics. It's difficult to miss this massive collection of blue books in our reference collection on the first floor: Ref. PS243.A54
- Biography Resource Center
Learn more about the authors of children's literature.
MLA Citation Style
Feel free to ask the librarians for help with creating source citations for your paper. Here is a guide to help you create citations for the most common resources:
Find Book Reviews and Scholarly Criticism
Try these sources to find book reviews and scholarly criticism:
- Contemporary Literary Criticism and a few related counterparts are a great collection of literary criticism organized by author. It is in the reference collection and can be found at call number: Ref. PN771.C59.
- Literature Resource Center
Current, comprehensive, and reliable online resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Its coverage includes all genres and disciplines, all time periods, and all regions of the world. - MLA International Bibliography
This is also good for literary criticism research. Beware: very, very little is in full text. Use Get Article links to find it in other databases or in the library.
Children's Literature Awards
- American Indian Youth Book Award
Recognizes excellence in books by and about American Indians. - Americas Book Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature

Books that authentically presents the experience of individuals in Latin America or the Caribbean, or of Latinos in the U.S. - Asian Pacific American Awards

"Promotes Asian/Pacific Americans culture and their heritage, based on literary and artistic merit." - Caldecott Medal

Awarded by the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. - Carnegie Medal

It is awarded annually to the writer of an outstanding book for children. - Carter G. Woodson Book Award
"National Council for the Social Studies established the Carter G. Woodson Book Awards for the most distinguished social science books appropriate for young readers that depict ethnicity in the United States." - Coretta Scott King Award

Honors books by authors of African descent whose books promte an understanding of the American Dream. - Jane Addams Book Award

Books that promote the casuse of peace, social justice, world communtiy and the equality of the sexes and all races. - Kate Greenway

Award given to a distinguished illustration in a book for children. - Laura Ingalls Wilder Medal
Award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children. - Margaret A. Edwards Award
Honors an author's work in helping adolescents become aware of themselves and addressing questions about their role and importance in relationships, society and the world. - Massachusetts Book Award
The Commonwealth affiliate of the Center for the Book in the Library of Congress. - Michael L. Printz Award
An award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. - Mildred L. Batchelder

This award promotes the translation of the world's best children's literature. - Newbery Medal
The most distinguished book contribution to American literature for children. - Newton Marasco Foundation (NMF) The Green Earth Book Award honor books that "inspire a child to grow a deeper appreciation, respect, and responsibility for his or her natural environment."
- Orbis Pictus Award for Outstanding Nonfiction for Children Established as an annual award for promoting and recognizing excellence in the writing of nonfiction for children.
- Pura Belpré Award
This award is presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth. - Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award
Awarded annually to the author (including co-authors or author-illustrators) of the most distinguished informational book published in English during the preceding year. - Schneider Family Book Award
This award honors an author or illustrator of a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences. - Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction
Award goes to a meritorious book published in the previous year with a focus on historical fiction. - Sydney Taylor Book Award
Award recognizes the best in Jewish children's literature. Medals are awarded annually for outstanding books that authentically portray the Jewish experience. - Theodor Seuss Geisel Medal
Most distinguished contribution to beginning reader literature - Tomas Rivera Mexican American Book Award
Presented to authors or illustrators that authentically reflect the lives of Mexican American children and young adults in the United States. - Erza Jack Keats Award The Ezra Jack Keats New Writer and New Illustrator Awards are given annually to an outstanding new writer of picture books for children (age 9 and under) and are presented jointly by the New York Public Library and the Ezra Jack Keats Foundation
Who is Sara? |
Sara MarksOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
978-665-4337
Office is in room 112- behind the circulation desk
Send Email
Subjects:
Comm Media, Sociology, Women's Studies, History, Human Services
![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
978-665-4337
Office is in room 112- behind the circulation desk
Send Email
Subjects:
Comm Media, Sociology, Women's Studies, History, Human Services
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait